Docskillz

The Good Stuff => SMF 2.1 RC3 => Topic started by: Ronald on May 26, 2021, 06:16:36 PM

Title: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 26, 2021, 06:16:36 PM
Here is where I stand Now!

SMF 2.1 RC3 https://rebelsarcade.com/index.php

I deleted the arcade forum, cleared everything from the cPanel, cleared all cookies and data, did a hard refresh.

I ran the smf installer, for arcadeholics and it keeps giving me a error page, so I clicked to install in rebels.

Ran the smf installer for SMF 2.1 RC3, I now have the arcade forum installed in theoverg_arcadeholics database, this is what I wanted.

Next I installed repair_txt, opened the page and made changes from https://rebelsarcade.com to the following https://arcadeholics.net, changed everyone that was saying rebelsarcade, rechecked 3 times. Next clicked on Save.

Now when repair page comes back, https://arcadeholics.net is where I made the changes, but then it says something about desired, and all are saying https//:rebelsarcade.com.

So I click on the link in my favourites, and get a white page with black fonts, and everything down the left side. Do a hard refresh, get he same looking page.

Back to the repair page and click to revert back, which it did. The arcade forum is up and showing, but not with what I wanted..

Anyone have any ideas as to why this is happening. And I did everything the correct way..

One other thing that troubles me is I deleted all traces of a forum I had installed, and yet when I click that link, it takes me to the arcade I just installed. Strange happenings.

Ron.   :banghead:
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 27, 2021, 07:53:06 AM
The white page with black fonts means that you don't have the last theme you had the forum on installed. You can do one of two things.

1.  Upload that theme and run repair_settings.php to make sure it is pointing to that theme.

2.  Try to navigate to Admin -> Themes and Layouts -> Theme Settings. At the bottom you should see a button that says "Attempt to reset all themes". Click it. OR try to change the theme to the default theme and then install your themes.

It is also possible that you've made a typo in the repair_settings as I see in your post above:

Now when repair page comes back, https://arcadeholics.net is where I made the changes, but then it says something about desired, and all are saying https//:rebelsarcade.com.

Should be "https://" Not "https//:"
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 27, 2021, 09:34:16 AM
That link we my error in typing.

I set the default skin to default for all. Install repair_settins using the FTP. Opened the page, changed all the urls to https://arcadeholics.net, clicked on Save. When I look at the page arcadeholics is where I made the change, but still shows Recommend Value as rebelsarcade. I have reset back to normal.

Now I have nothing, page opens to a error now.

I am wondering if this may have anything to do with what is happening.

The name of the forum is rebelsarcade.com, and is installed in database theoverg_arcadeholics.

See images below.

Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 27, 2021, 09:38:21 AM
Do not use the recommended value. It is telling you that because it see the old forum and that's what the db is set to. Just make sure all of the settings point to the new arcade's directories and urls.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 27, 2021, 09:56:25 AM
Do not use the recommended value. It is telling you that because it see the old forum and that's what the db is set to. Just make sure all of the settings point to the new arcade's directories and urls.

trouble is the recommend values all stay the same, they never change. Is this the way it is suppose to be after clicking Save?

I'll try again see what happens.

Thanks Steve.

Ron.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 27, 2021, 10:06:16 AM
I installed repair_settings using the FTP, opened the repair link, all the links show https://arcadeholics.net.

When I click the forum link https://arcadeholics.net/index.php I get the following error

Not Found
The requested URL was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Apache Server at arcadeholics.net Port 443

http://rebelsarcade.com/index.php

This page isnít working right now
rebelsarcade.com can't currently handle this request.

Nothing is opening. Maybe I should just go back and start again using the 2.0.18 forum.

Ron.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 27, 2021, 10:22:12 AM
Yes, the recommended settings will stay the same. Don't worry about the recommended settings cause it is looking at what is in the db from the old forum. You need to make sure you are adding the new values...directories and urls for the new forum then click save.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 27, 2021, 10:25:46 AM
Yes, the recommended settings will stay the same. Don't worry about the recommended settings cause it is looking at what is in the db from the old forum. You need to make sure you are adding the new values...directories and urls for the new forum then click save.

Exactly what I did, plus in the cpanel, I removed the repair_settings file.

But the forum will not come up, just get a error message.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 27, 2021, 10:57:04 AM
So, let me get this straight... You


I deleted the arcade forum, cleared everything from the cPanel, cleared all cookies and data, did a hard refresh.

Mistake number 1. You should've left it there. Also you should also put your forum in a subdir and not directly in the public_html. If a hacker gains assess to your forum they should basically only have access to the subdir on down. If the forum is in the public_html then they will have access to everything under it. ;)

I ran the smf installer, for arcadeholics and it keeps giving me a error page, so I clicked to install in rebels.

What installer did you run and where did you get it from?
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 27, 2021, 11:01:26 AM
So, let me get this straight... You


I deleted the arcade forum, cleared everything from the cPanel, cleared all cookies and data, did a hard refresh.

Mistake number 1. You should've left it there. Also you should also put your forum in a subdir and not directly in the public_html. If a hacker gains assess to your forum they should basically only have access to the subdir on down. If the forum is in the public_html then they will have access to everything under it. ;)

I ran the smf installer, for arcadeholics and it keeps giving me a error page, so I clicked to install in rebels.

What installer did you run and where did you get it from?

Used the FTP and the SMF installer. Maybe I'll delete everything, put the domain in addon and install over again.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 27, 2021, 11:08:20 AM
Sounds like a plan. Create a subdirectory under public_html and put it in there.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 27, 2021, 07:26:09 PM
I tried everything possible, and can not get a smf 2.0.18 or smf 2.1rc3 forum installed. The installer just will not pick it up.

So I ended up installing 2.0.18 using the softaculous, yea I know it's not recommended.

But arcadeholics is up, and we'll worry about it later.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 28, 2021, 07:40:19 AM
Did you put it under a new subdirectory like I've said?

Btw, do you have a redirect on either of those domains?
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 28, 2021, 09:16:31 AM
Did you put it under a new subdirectory like I've said?

Btw, do you have a redirect on either of those domains?

It is not in the public_html, it shows above public_html

No redirections in place..

I did start to get the installer going, byt it was crazy. What happened was I install the rc3 and it showed as a package, so I slid it in the arcadeholics file and started the up loader, well it show arcadeholics.net.smf2.1 rc3, so i stopped, and just took the easy way.

Now if they were a way to upgrade?
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 28, 2021, 09:59:57 AM
!. You should never install anything above public_html! Again, you need to create a subdir under public_html and upload the files there. Then point the urls, etc. in repair_settings to that subdir.

2. Yes,you can upgrade but first you need to move the forum under public_html and get it working. Then upload the rc3 upgrade package to it and run upgrade.php.

However, doing it either way you will not be using the info from your previous db.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 28, 2021, 11:15:00 AM
I get confused easily in the cpanel with all those files. I thought I had the file in the proper place. Look at the image, tell me if the new file is correct now or not.

If it is correct, then how do I get everything over to it.

Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 28, 2021, 11:22:04 AM
Yes, that is where it should go. :)
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 28, 2021, 11:24:52 AM
Yes, that is where it should go. :)

 :cheers: got something right for a change.

NOW!!! How do I get all the files over to the new file???  :cry1:
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 28, 2021, 11:30:52 AM
Just copy all of the files and subdirectories from the one above public_html (not the actual directory itself...just the files and subdirectories under it) to the new directory... /public_html/arcadeholics. Then upload repair_settings to it and run it to make it change to that subdirectory so it changes it's url's and settings to that new directory.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 28, 2021, 11:36:52 AM
Just copy all of the files and subdirectories from the one above public_html (not the actual directory itself...just the files and subdirectories under it) to the new directory... /public_html/arcadeholics. Then upload repair_settings to it and run it to make it change to that subdirectory so it changes it's url's and settings to that new directory.

OK I'll give it a shot, hope it works.. First time doing anything like this
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 28, 2021, 11:39:08 AM
Every time you fail and learn that you can't do something a certain way is a blessing. Why? Because you've learned something even if it is that you can't or should not do it that way. ;) Always count your blessings. Yes, failing is a blessing especially if you learn something from and most of all if you get up and try again. :)
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 28, 2021, 11:41:00 AM
Every time you fail and learn that you can't do something a certain way is a blessing. Why? Because you've learned something even if it is that you can't or should not do it that way. ;) Always count your blessings. Yes, failing is a blessing especially if you learn something from and most of all if you get up and try again. :)

I am learning. Tried moving all the files over, lost everything. Both files empty. nothing, can't find the forum.

Time to start over again.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 28, 2021, 11:48:22 AM
At least you've learned to make and keep backup. :) LOL Good deal! ;)
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 28, 2021, 11:50:12 AM
At least you've learned to make and keep backup. :) LOL Good deal! ;)

Never had a backup, because it wasn't used, except for testing. But once I restall I will start backups.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 28, 2021, 11:54:36 AM
Also learn to use cron jobs or scripts to do auto backups so you'll never be without one. Those types are free but there's a learning curve. 'You can also pay for them like Jet Backups you were asking about before....
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 28, 2021, 12:07:25 PM
Also learn to use cron jobs or scripts to do auto backups so you'll never be without one. Those types are free but there's a learning curve. 'You can also pay for them like Jet Backups you were asking about before....

Just one more thing to learn.

I installed the forum over again. Dam thing ended up again in the wrong location.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 28, 2021, 12:34:10 PM
Not sure what you are doing for that to happen. If you are using ftp or cpanel you need to make sure you are in the right directory.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 28, 2021, 01:35:05 PM
Not sure what you are doing for that to happen. If you are using ftp or cpanel you need to make sure you are in the right directory.

Right now I am trying my damest to install RC3, using the FTP I just can not get the installer to open everything I try says not found.

This is ridiculous. I think I'll just delete everything, and use the easy way using the host installer for 2.0.18 and leave it.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 29, 2021, 07:33:56 AM
Well, something isn't going right. Me thinks you are installing it to the wrong place and it can't find it. Try uploading it using cPanel's File Manager then extracting the .zip.

OR

Extract it on your hard drive then use File Manager to upload the extracted files to the dir you've created. I'm thinking you may have uploaded everything including the main upgrade folder. You should only be uploading the files and subdirs within it.

You should not upload the highlighted directory...only what's inside it.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 29, 2021, 08:57:48 AM
Well, something isn't going right. Me thinks you are installing it to the wrong place and it can't find it. Try uploading it using cPanel's File Manager then extracting the .zip.

OR

Extract it on your hard drive then use File Manager to upload the extracted files to the dir you've created. I'm thinking you may have uploaded everything including the main upgrade folder. You should only be uploading the files and subdirs within it.

You should not upload the highlighted directory...only what's inside it.

I tried doing it in the cpanel, but it opened all the files, and couldn't do them all at the same time. So you do it as a Zip, then extract, I will try that.

My problem always was the darn Installer would never open. How I started was zip the package, then install into the public_html, then enter the url plus install.php. nothing ever happened except an error page.

I am going to leave it as it is for now. I will practice installing another forum first. You know me, I do it and it never shows.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 29, 2021, 09:47:08 AM
The upgrade package itself is not "self-installing". You must extract it and then run the installer. In this case, it is upgrade.php. BUT you can only use the upgrade package if you have a live or test forum first to upgrade. Then you upload the upgrade packages to it and run upgrade.php.

So, you would want to make a test forum of your live forum and then upgrade it.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Ronald on May 29, 2021, 10:05:48 AM
The upgrade package itself is not "self-installing". You must extract it and then run the installer. In this case, it is upgrade.php. BUT you can only use the upgrade package if you have a live or test forum first to upgrade. Then you upload the upgrade packages to it and run upgrade.php.

So, you would want to make a test forum of your live forum and then upgrade it.

I have always zipped the package then select all and loaded, is this wrong?
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 29, 2021, 10:34:25 AM
The package is already zipped. You need to unzip/extract it whether you do it on your hd or upload it in cpanel then unzip it.
Title: Re: Change forum URL
Post by: Skhilled on May 30, 2021, 01:32:48 PM
Got a question. Are you upgrading from 2.0.18 to 2.1RC3? And where did you get the upgrade package from...smf.org or github?
SimplePortal 2.3.8 © 2008-2021, SimplePortal