Alliedenemies HALO Clan [Æ]

Started by Furr, September 01, 2013, 07:55:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Furr

Hey Guys,

I am new to managing and maintaining a website since our previous Forum manager left the clan 4 weeks ago, and so we needed to get a new site up and going promptly........it has been a very steep learning curve. :ohmy2:

I must say, I am impressed by how user friendly the SMF software has been for a noob like me to jump in and use. I have not had too many issues......... our main one was how to enable the alt code we use for our gamer tags ie. [Æ]

Anyhoo....please feel free to come have a look at what we have done so far and you are welcome to register as well.

Any suggestions would be appreciated  :wink1:

Cheers [Æ] Furr

EDIT: Link removed...no longer valid.

Skhilled

Hi Furr and welcome aboard! :) I am an old school gamer and used to run a CS server some years ago. Sadly, I do not play much anymore and don't have the time if I wanted to.  :brat:

A few questions and suggestions...

1.  Backup, backup, backup. Did I say backup?  :rofl1: Before you install or remove anything always backup. You will never know when you accidentally hit the delete button by mistake!  :hah: If you have R1Soft Backups on your server you can always use that to restore your forum from the day before as your hosting will always have backups ready for you to restore. ;)

2.  What forum software did you use before SMF (if it was not SMF)? If you still have the database intact from it you still may be able to convert it to SMF which may allow you to keep your previous members, posts, pm's etc. This will save you a lot of time later and will give the appearance of a more established forum instead of looking like you are just beginning or starting over...not that it is a bad thing.