Docskillz

The Good Stuff => SMF Arcade Support => Topic started by: Ronald on May 19, 2015, 12:50:53 PM

Title: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 19, 2015, 12:50:53 PM
 (Find) [Select]

elseif (empty($_REQUEST['action']))


Code: (Add Before) [Select]
// Check for arcade actions
// IBPArcade v2.x.x Games support
elseif (isset($_REQUEST['act']) && strtolower($_REQUEST['act']) == 'arcade')
{
$_REQUEST['action'] = 'arcade';

if (isset($_REQUEST['do']) && $_REQUEST['do'] == 'newscore')
$_REQUEST['sa'] = 'ibpsubmit2';

require_once($sourcedir . '/Arcade.php');
return 'Arcade';
}
// IBPArcade v3.x.x Games support
elseif (isset($_REQUEST['autocom']) && $_REQUEST['autocom'] == 'arcade')
{
$_REQUEST['action'] = 'arcade';

if (isset($_REQUEST['do']) && $_REQUEST['do'] == 'savescore')
$_REQUEST['sa'] = 'ibpsubmit3';
elseif (isset($_REQUEST['do']) && $_REQUEST['do'] == 'verifyscore')
$_REQUEST['sa'] = 'ibpverify';

require_once($sourcedir . '/Arcade.php');
return 'Arcade';
}
elseif (isset($_REQUEST['play']) && !isset($_REQUEST['game']))
{
$_REQUEST['game'] = $_REQUEST['play'];
unset($_REQUEST['play']);
$_REQUEST['sa'] = 'play';

require_once($sourcedir . '/Arcade.php');
return 'Arcade';
}
elseif (isset($_REQUEST['highscore']) && !isset($_REQUEST['game']))
{
$_REQUEST['game'] = $_REQUEST['highscore'];
unset($_REQUEST['highscore']);
$_REQUEST['sa'] = 'highscore';

require_once($sourcedir . '/Arcade.php');
return 'Arcade';
}
elseif ((isset($_REQUEST['game']) || isset($_REQUEST['match'])) && !isset($_REQUEST['action']))
{
require_once($sourcedir . '/Arcade.php');
return 'Arcade';
}


Not sure which file, Default  index, has very little in it and not what I want.

index. template.php is were I think it goes, but I don't see the code..

   48.    Extract File    ./Themes/default/languages/ArcadeEmail.english.php    
*    49.    Execute Modification    ./Themes/default/languages/Modifications.english.php    Test successful
*    50.    Execute Modification    ./index.php    Test failed
      1.    Add Before    ./index.php    Test failed

*    51.    Execute Modification    ./Sources/Subs-Db-mysql.php    Test successful
*    52.    Execute Modification    ./Sources/Subs-Db-sqlite.php    Test successful

Any chance for some advice..

Ron..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 20, 2015, 08:36:27 AM
Nope, that goes in plain, old, index.php in your root folder. The "./" part stands for your domain and folder of your forum. For this site it would be "docskillz.com/docs" because I have this forum in a subfolder. If you site is not in a subfolder then it would be "docskillz.com"...without the subfolder.

That file, "index.php", is always at the root of your forum's directory.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 20, 2015, 09:53:45 AM
Thanks Steve. Got it in..

This is in seniorsworldwide  http://www.seniorsworldwide.net/index.php?action=forum  I removed the E Arcade and installed the smf arcade from your link..

I left the games intact hoping I could just reload them again, and sort out the categories..

Or would it be best the delete all the games and start over from scratch..

Ron..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 20, 2015, 09:56:02 AM
I haven't tried it to see how it would go. I doubt it would hurt if you left the games and reinstalled them to see if the scores, etc. still work or not.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 20, 2015, 10:53:45 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 20, 2015, 09:56:02 AM
I haven't tried it to see how it would go. I doubt it would hurt if you left the games and reinstalled them to see if the scores, etc. still work or not.

Selected a few games, Moved to Category, but would not install.

I ended up removing all games. Setting up new Categories, and then installing all new games..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 20, 2015, 11:00:25 AM
Well, at least it's working. :)
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 20, 2015, 11:47:11 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 20, 2015, 11:00:25 AM
Well, at least it's working. :)

Not quite, keep getting the message like I got before, games will not play..

I ended up removing all the data from e arcade lots of files..

Game that I did install the icons were missing. Have to reload more games and keep checking..

Right now no game installed..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 20, 2015, 12:39:45 PM
Can't get any of the game to load or work..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 21, 2015, 08:26:54 AM
1.  Are you sure all of the code is in its proper places and all files are uploaded?

2.  Did you have still have the old skin mod and/or other mods installed before you started this? If so, you must make sure they are all completely removed before installing this version since it already contains those versions. It may cause conflicts.

3.  Make sure your file and folder permissions are correct before and after installing the arcade so it installs and runs properly.

Remeber, just because you do not get errors when installing or uninstalling a mod does not mean everything went well...
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 21, 2015, 08:53:09 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 21, 2015, 08:26:54 AM
1.  Are you sure all of the code is in its proper places and all files are uploaded?

2.  Did you have still have the old skin mod and/or other mods installed before you started this? If so, you must make sure they are all completely removed before installing this version since it already contains those versions. It may cause conflicts.

3.  Make sure your file and folder permissions are correct before and after installing the arcade so it installs and runs properly.

Remeber, just because you do not get errors when installing or uninstalling a mod does not mean everything went well...

I removed the e arcade first, from ACP then clicked on the delete so it was no longer in the mod list..  Then I installed the SMF Arcade, corrected the one error.. Then tried putting the games in different categories, but like I said they would not take.. So I had to remover the games, and install new games..

Installed games, and none would play..Next I went into the cpanel and found the smf arcade checked out the categories they looked ok, then checked the games, they also looked ok.

Then I looked up the e arcade, started from the top and removed each item one at a time.. Came back to the forum cleared the cache, but still no games would play..

Maybe I start start over again..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 21, 2015, 09:05:11 AM
Yeah, me thinks you still may have leftover code somewhere or missing code.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 21, 2015, 03:23:47 PM
After removing the arcade and games, I cleared the cache. I even cleared the computer cache and rebooted the computer..

Then I reinstalled the arcade, 1 error took care of that and fished the install..

When I opened the arcade it had already set itself up with the previous info.

I uploaded 4 bingo games, installed the four games..

When to the arcade to look it over and try a game. It doesn't load, no icons neither.

I decided to download from where I was, I got an error telling me no game in database..

This is getting confusing now..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 22, 2015, 09:07:28 AM
Did you delete the arcade db tables from the last version?

I'm guessing you didn't manually check to see if there was code left over from the last install or if all of the code from this install was properly added?

Remember, just because you may not have seen errors during install/uninstall does not mean there weren't any or even there were more than you did see.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 22, 2015, 10:14:48 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 22, 2015, 09:07:28 AM
Did you delete the arcade db tables from the last version?

I'm guessing you didn't manually check to see if there was code left over from the last install or if all of the code from this install was properly added?

Remember, just because you may not have seen errors during install/uninstall does not mean there weren't any or even there were more than you did see.

In phpmyadmin I have delete all arcade files..categories, games, etc..

I am confused when I go into the File Manager and I see arcade files.

I have attached a photo of these, tell me if I should delete these also.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 22, 2015, 11:17:49 AM
Yes, those and any other lingering arcade files that may be in /Sources, etc. Also, you need to check for any code that may be left behind in the SMF files...that is probably the biggest problem.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 22, 2015, 11:45:58 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 22, 2015, 11:17:49 AM
Yes, those and any other lingering arcade files that may be in /Sources, etc. Also, you need to check for any code that may be left behind in the SMF files...that is probably the biggest problem.

Removed arcade where ever I could see.

Installed arcade and a couple of games. tried to play nothing. Removed this arcade.

Installed e arcade again get a message my database is out of date..

I feel at this time it's time to give up, not going to get it installed..Something going on that I can not find..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 22, 2015, 11:49:02 AM
Ah! Now we're getting somewhere... You mean a message like this?

QuoteNote: It appears that your database may require an upgrade. Your forum's files are currently at version SMF 2.0.2, while your database is at version 2.0. The above error might possibly go away if you execute the latest version of upgrade.php.

Then you'll want to do this:

http://www.docskillz.com/docs/index.php?page=page202
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 22, 2015, 11:55:27 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 22, 2015, 11:49:02 AM
Ah! Now we're getting somewhere... You mean a message like this?

QuoteNote: It appears that your database may require an upgrade. Your forum's files are currently at version SMF 2.0.2, while your database is at version 2.0. The above error might possibly go away if you execute the latest version of upgrade.php.

Then you'll want to do this:

http://www.docskillz.com/docs/index.php?page=page202

The second notice is the error I'm getting..

I haven't a clue on how to begin with this.. Never done an upgrade..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 22, 2015, 12:07:32 PM
I'm going to take a guess and think you've upgraded your forum by clicking the upgrade link in the admin right? That will work...partially. The problem with doing it that way it that it does not upgrade the database on some servers for some reason. This has been happening since SMF upgraded to 1.1.x from 1.0.x! I've complained about it back then but they are not smart enough to listen. And if you go to them and ask for help they'll just tell you to ignore the db upgrade error....idiots!

Why do they allow for a db upgrade then when it does not work they tell you to forget it???

The best way to upgrade is to switch to the default theme, uninstall your mods and upload all new smf files for the new version from the new upgrade package (not the main install...the upgrade package) then run upgrade.php. This will upgrade your files and your database correctly. However, it will kill your mods (and possibly some themes, if they are not coded correctly) and you'll need to install them again. Upgrading through the admin will allow you to keep your mods intact but when you need to uninstall or upgrade them you will have major problems.

For those who do not know how to manually add or remove mod code I always suggest that you do it the way I just mentioned. You'll have less problems. The only problems you may have is if the mods you have do not work with the new version...they won't install properly, of course.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 22, 2015, 12:33:27 PM
Make sure you download this version:

(http://docskillz.com/docs/images/smfupgrade.png)

As you can see, right above the arrow, it says for upgrading from a smf version before 2.0. That is correct but it will also work for current versions that have the db error. ;) You can also see that it will tell you that it will kill your mods and they will need to be reinstalled.

Extract the files then upload then and run http://yoursite.com/upgrade.php
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 01:44:54 AM
If you have not upgraded already then do this first:

1.  Go to Admin. On the right you'll see Support Information. Under that click on "(more detailed)". You will see this:

(http://docskillz.com/docs/images/smfversion.png)

If any of the numbers on the right are red then your SMF file(s) are not updated correctly. If you see red then you'll need to upload all of the SMF files as I've explained in my last posts. If they are not red then proceed below.

2.  Upload the following files from the upgrade package:

upgrade.php
upgrade_1-0.sql
upgrade_1-1.sql
upgrade_2-0_mysql.sql
upgrade_2-0_postgresql.sql
upgrade_2-0_sqlite.sql

Run upgrade.php. This should upgrade your db without causing any problems to your mods or themes.

See if that helps. If it does not then you probably coding issues somewhere...probably from outdated mods or mods that did not install correctly. The best thing you can do is what I have usually done on your site. Upload all new SMF files and reinstall your mods.

When installing mods start with e largest or most problematic ones first.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 23, 2015, 08:46:26 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 01:44:54 AM
If you have not upgraded already then do this first:

1.  Go to Admin. On the right you'll see Support Information. Under that click on "(more detailed)". You will see this:

(http://docskillz.com/docs/images/smfversion.png)

If any of the numbers on the right are red then your SMF file(s) are not updated correctly. If you see red then you'll need to upload all of the SMF files as I've explained in my last posts. If they are not red then proceed below.

2.  Upload the following files from the upgrade package:

upgrade.php
upgrade_1-0.sql
upgrade_1-1.sql
upgrade_2-0_mysql.sql
upgrade_2-0_postgresql.sql
upgrade_2-0_sqlite.sql

Run upgrade.php. This should upgrade your db without causing any problems to your mods or themes.

See if that helps. If it does not then you probably coding issues somewhere...probably from outdated mods or mods that did not install correctly. The best thing you can do is what I have usually done on your site. Upload all new SMF files and reinstall your mods.

When installing mods start with e largest or most problematic ones first.

No upgrade yet, doing it Sunday..

I followed your instructions: See attachment...
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:05:24 AM
OK, I do not have to work Sunday so I'll be around...
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 23, 2015, 09:12:17 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:05:24 AM
OK, I do not have to work Sunday so I'll be around...

From my attachment, do I need to upgrade..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:16:36 AM
Yes, just download the SMF upgrade package and extract the files. You only need to upload the 5 or 6 upgrade.* files and run upgrade.php.

Hopefully that will fix it. Then you can reinstall the arcade. If that does not work then you'll need to do the full upgrade which means you'll need to reinstall your mods again.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 23, 2015, 09:20:22 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:16:36 AM
Yes, just download the SMF upgrade package and extract the files. You only need to upload the 5 or 6 upgrade.* files and run upgrade.php.

Hopefully that will fix it. Then you can reinstall the arcade. If that does not work then you'll need to do the full upgrade which means you'll need to reinstall your mods again.

runic was going to do it Sunday..

I don't feel comfortable doing this, when I don't know what I'm doing..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:31:20 AM
As long as he's been around he should already know what to do. ;)
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 23, 2015, 09:33:33 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:31:20 AM
As long as he's been around he should already know what to do. ;)

runic is the one that helped me convert over from mybb..

If you'd like to do it, I'll give you the info..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:39:33 AM
If he runs into any problems, I'll stop over and help.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 23, 2015, 09:46:00 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:39:33 AM
If he runs into any problems, I'll stop over and help.

OK thanks Steve..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 23, 2015, 09:46:36 AM
No problem, bro. ;)
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 25, 2015, 08:38:03 AM
I tried, until the cows came home. SMF RC3 Arcade will just not install.. Oh the Arcade will install with one error, but the games will not load..

So after double and triple checking many times, and clearing and clearing.. I did get the smf arcade called E Arcade back in and games installed and working..

So for now it'll stay this way..E Arcade is not as good looking as the RC3 arcade is but I'll live with it..

One thing for sure, I learned more in the last few days about the files in the smf database.. somethings I don't feel comfortable in trying..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 08:42:24 AM
Just remember to back things up first, you're files and db so you can put it back the way it was if something does wrong..like if you hit the delete key by mistake! I've done that more than a few times.  :rofl1:
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 25, 2015, 08:47:31 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 08:42:24 AM
Just remember to back things up first, you're files and db so you can put it back the way it was if something does wrong..like if you hit the delete key by mistake! I've done that more than a few times.  :rofl1:

I could never visualize you hitting the wrong key.. wow..

I backup every Saturday night I do it on an external hard drive and also on a portable usb  which I take with me when leaving the country..

Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 08:54:28 AM
LOL, only God is perfect and I'm nowhere close! LOL

Just remember to backup right before you do things, especially to the db. It contains all of the info...posts, pm's, etc. You can trash the files all you want. Those can be easily fixed. But you can lose everything if you trash the db without a backup. And backups will only be good for the last time you did it so do it right before you do something to keep everything current and not lose any posts, etc.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 09:10:55 AM
Btw, Runic didn't help or get it to work?
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 25, 2015, 09:35:39 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 09:10:55 AM
Btw, Runic didn't help or get it to work?

No he was watching some Eurovision song contest..

I kept going through the files and deleting all the arcade I could find..found most of the arcade files in myadminphp

This board was started on mybb, when I bought the board from Martin, I converted over to SMF. We didn't delete enough before the convert I guess, I figured most would come over with the convert..

The Arcade was left in the convert, and I figure this is the main reason I couldn't get the Arcade in. Remember when all you guys were in trying your best to get it install about a year ago..been the same since..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 09:48:11 AM
I think it is the code left in the SMF files more than the conversion. You keep saying you are deleting files but not saying anything about deleting code in the SMF files.
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 25, 2015, 10:25:07 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 09:48:11 AM
I think it is the code left in the SMF files more than the conversion. You keep saying you are deleting files but not saying anything about deleting code in the SMF files.

OK My next step will to look for this. I'll parse the files and look..

Never thought about codes..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 10:37:12 AM
I've mentioned them a few times in this topic and thought you did...
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 25, 2015, 11:14:09 AM
Quote from: Skhilled on May 25, 2015, 10:37:12 AM
I've mentioned them a few times in this topic and thought you did...

I did parse the program and I see code in there, but not sure if its part of the e arcade..so going to spread out both codes and have a better look..
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Ronald on May 25, 2015, 12:50:08 PM
Left over code in the index file :taz:
Title: Re: Problem with install
Post by: Skhilled on May 26, 2015, 09:04:01 AM
Make sure you look for code for any addons like the skin mod, etc. too...